Ninniku-Shoyu (Japanese Soy Sauce Infused Garlic)

During the summer I was given a sack of garlic freshly harvested from the fields surrounding my mum’s village deep in La Mancha. La Mancha (a historic area belonging to Castilla La Mancha) is actually famous for its purple garlic known as Morado de Cuenca from the Allium Sativum L species and it even boasts the coveted Indication of Geographic Protection (IGP) designation. Great stuff!

ajo-morado

I shared it out among family and friends but I still had an overwhelming amount of garlic leftover so I made my favourite Spanish Garlic and Parsley Marinade which I always have in my fridge. As I still had loads of garlic left my friend who had lived in Japan recommended me to soak whole garlic cloves in soy sauce and leave to infuse for 3-4 weeks; so that’s what I did. Apparently, it’s a secret weapon used in many Japanese households as it can instantly transform stir-fries without much more seasoning. I was advised to use it in regular egg-fried rice  and am so glad that I did; such a small thing really does make a difference and elevates the dish to new heights!

The soy sauce also transforms into something more complex so feel free to use it too. However make sure the garlic is always covered by the soy sauce; if it runs low you can always top it up with regular light soy.

Ingredients

As much garlic as your heart desires

Enough light soy sauce to completely cover the garlic.

Method

1 Peel garlic and put in a jar. Top up with enough light soy sauce to completely cover the garlic.

soy-sauce-infused-garlic

2 Store in the fridge for 3-4 weeks. When the garlic has changed into a brownish colour, it is ready to use. If you store it in the fridge it can keep for a long time.

soy-sauce-infused-garlic-2

One thought on “Ninniku-Shoyu (Japanese Soy Sauce Infused Garlic)

  1. Pingback: Egg-Fried Rice | frightfulkitchen

Leave a Reply

