Higado de cordero al ajillo (Spanish Garlic Lamb’s Liver)

I remember as a child absolutely loving liver but later on in life I just couldn’t stomach it anymore. It’s only been recently that I have rekindled my love affair with this overlooked offal jewel.

A few weeks ago I had a nice glass of wine and a tapa of liver in a recently opened bar in the centre of Valencia; it was so good that I had to make it at home.

I can imagine most people turning their noses up at liver and most probably won’t even bother to click on this post after seeing the word liver but if you do by chance come across my words, give it a go even if you think you don’t like it. Lamb’s liver has a subtle mellow flavour, unlike cow’s liver which is rather pungent, and is a great source of iron.

Ingredients

4 medium thick slices lamb’s liver

2 Tbsp. ajo y perejil marinade

Garlic sauce:

2 Tbsp. ajo y perejil marinade

3 Tbsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. hot pimentón (or paprika)

Salt, to taste

Method

1 Marinade the lamb slices with the ajo y perejil. Leave for a few hours or preferably overnight.

2 Make the garlic sauce by mixing all the ingredients together in a pestle or mortar (or any old bowl). Combine well and set aside.

3 Heat a griddle pan and when hot fry the liver for a few seconds on each side. It really does not need long at all and you don’t want overcooked liver.Higado de cordero al ajillo_collage4 Transfer to serving plate and spoon over with the garlic sauce.Higado de cordero al ajilloEnjoy with a nice glass of wine and a good chunk of crusty bread. Have it as a tapa or serve it with some mashed potato and make a meal out of it. 


This post is also part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Jazz from Dash of Jazz and the theme is NOSTALGIA.

our-growing-edge-badge


 

4 thoughts on “Higado de cordero al ajillo (Spanish Garlic Lamb’s Liver)

  1. This sound really good actually. You must be a rare child who liked liver. I always wanted to like liver as it’s a powerhouse of nutrition but I can only enjoy it in small doses. As a tapas dish among other tapas would be fine, but as a main course would be a bit too rich for me, though I’m working towards it. This recipe sounds delicious though, I love a bit of spice and garlic, which both go a long way when introducing new foods.

    This post would make a great submission to Our Growing Edge, which is a link up party for new food adventures. This month’s theme is “Nostalgia”. More info here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was always a bit weird; not much has changed on that front, though. lol I understand your frustration of wanting to like something but just not being able to stomach it. I’ve tried to force myself to like bananas because I really I want to like them but it’s that mushy texture that ruins it for me. Oh well.
      I’ll submit this to Our Growing Edge. Hopefully I’ll do it right though; I am still a bit new to this whole blogging malarkey. Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Our Growing Edge Roundup | Dash of Jazz

  3. Pingback: Our Growing Edge Roundup – Dash of Jazz

Leave a Reply

