Chinese Steamed Chicken Balls

I must admit that these chicken balls do not look particularly tasty but fear not as appearances deceive.

These steamed chicken balls are what I would use inside a wonton although in this case I have substituted the pork for chicken to make them healthier. I didn’t have any wonton wrappers so I thought to myself how the filling would taste on its own; turns out pretty damn good and thus this recipe was born.

Personally, I prefer to mince my own chicken as that way I know exactly what is in it and I can keep the fat to a minimum but you can just as easily use store-bought chicken mince or any other protein you prefer; meat or fish alike.

Chinese-Style Steamed Chicken Balls

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts, minced

6 shiitake mushrooms, sliced

2 spring onions, finely sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 cm fresh ginger, minced

1 ½ Tbsp. light soy sauce

1 Tbsp. sesame oil

Method

1 If mincing your own chicken, place in a food processor and pulse a few times. Empty into a bowl and then process the garlic and ginger. Combine the processed chicken, ginger, garlic along with the rest of the ingredients.

Chinese Steamed Chicken Balls_collage1

2 Form this mixture into rugby shaped balls and place on a plate inside a steamer basket. Have a bowl of cold water handy so that you can wet them once in a while to prevent the mixture from sticking to your hands.

3 Prepare a steamer and cook for 10 minutes.

Chinese Steamed Chicken Balls_Collage

 

Chinese Steamed Chicken Balls2

Leave a Reply

