Doenjang Jjigae (Korean Fermented Soybean Stew)

As Korean BBQ becomes more and more popular it seems, however, that only this aspect of Korean cuisine has been showcased while the rest has been left by the wayside, much like what happened with Japanese cuisine and sushi.

As much as I love Korean BBQ, I also like to explore the other elements of the cuisine. This particular recipe is an amalgamation of lots of different recipes I’ve seen out there but suited to my tastes. I can not claim Korean authenticity as: a) Unfortunately, I’ve never had it cooked by anyone else,

b) most recipes call for dried anchovies but I searched high and low for them with no luck so I completely left them out,

c) I don’t really know what it should actually taste like but I’ve made this version many times and it is, to my taste, delicious!

The name of this dish comes from “doenjang”, which is a fermented soybean paste similar to Japanese miso but more pungent and chunky, and “jjigae” the Korean word for stew or stew-like dish.

I am not a vegetarian and don’t think I could ever follow that lifestyle but in this recipe I did not miss meat at all.

Oh and for those who haven’t cooked with tofu before, I think it is worth pointing out that the tofu must be pressed before cooking. I do this by laying it on some kitchen paper and using a cutting board with a pan of water on top to weigh it down for at least 1 hour.

Ingredients

2 potatoes, cubed

1 courgette, cubed

1 onion, cubed

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 green chilli pepper

1 red pepper, cubed

5 Tbsp. doenjang

1 Tbsp. gochujang

1 tsp. gochugaru (or red chilli powder)

2 spring onions, chopped

1 block firm tofu, cubed

Fresh enoki mushrooms

Dried shiitake mushrooms, rehydrated and sliced

Shiitake dashi (Liquid from rehydrating the shiitake mushrooms; make sure you sieve it before using)

Method

1 Place potato, onion, garlic, half of the red pepper, courgette, green chilli in a saucepan and add just enough water to cover the ingredients.

2 When the liquid comes to a boil add the doenjang, gochujang, shiitake broth and gochugaru. Mix well and leave for 10-15mins.

3 Add tofu, red pepper and shiitake mushrooms. Cook for 5 minutes.

4 Add spring onions and enoki mushrooms. Leave for 2 mins and then serve.

Doenjjang Jiggae

One thought on “Doenjang Jjigae (Korean Fermented Soybean Stew)

  1. Pingback: Ssamjang (Korean Wrapping Sauce) | frightfulkitchen

Leave a Reply

